History of the castle

Stiftung Schloss Dyck, 41363 Jüchen, Fon (0 21 82) 824-0, Fax (0 21 82) 824-110

History of the castle grounds

Schloss Dyck is culturally and historically one of the most important moated castles in the Rhineland. With its forecourts and outbuilding, it is built on four islands in the Kelzenberger Bach and surrounded by a picturesque English landscape garden. Its history dates back to 1094, first mentioned as "Hermannus de Dicco" in a record of the Archbishop of Cologne. "Hermannus de Dicco" was the landlord of a simple fortification in a marshy brook area. The following generations converted the site into a fortified moated castle. The surrounding villages were under its authority. Two aspects are remarkable from a historical viewpoint: firstly, the site remained in the hands of the Salm-Reifferscheidt-Dyck family for 900 years until - with the establishment of a foundation in 1999 - it became the Centre for Garden Art and Landscape Design. Secondly, for centuries it remained autonomous between the centres of power Electoral Cologne, Jülich and Geldern. The small territory - called "Dycker Ländchen" in vernacular - is until today recognizable as a unique piece of cultural landscape.
Knighthood and medieval times with their many wars are history when the castle received its present countenance. The 17th century owners created a representative early baroque residence. In the first half of the century the stables, watch rooms and brewery were renewed. Between 1656 and 1667, Graf Salentin had the main castle extended to a four-winged construction. It became the meeting point for the elite society. At the end of the 18th century, Dyck advanced to a first-class Rococo residence. Finest tapestries and exquisite furniture were part of the interior. The parterre rooms were now a museum and accessible to everyone. You look back at the past - and towards the future: with the establishment of a foundation, an extensive restoration of the grounds, including a contemporary interior design, has begun.

Historical map of Schloss Dyck and his ground

Painting of the exhibition Historie

Portrit of Lord Joseph

European Garden Heritage Network, in a new window

Foundation informations